Final Paper Step 1

For the final paper here I would like to apply some of the knowledge we have gained in this class and aim it towards my field of education.  I work with middle and high school students and want to be able to expand their cultural knowledge.  The advantage to teaching in primary and secondary education is that you can utilize interdisciplinary styles and I would like to find texts that work both from the historical aspect as well as the literary.  One text I would like to look at is Aya of Yop City, a series of 5-6 books, which covers the lives of multiple Africans in the 1970’s within Yopougon-Koute.

The reason I believe this is important is because we tend to focus on specific texts within the English canon, i.e. “The Old Dead White Guys.”  When teaching I find that we, as educators, often forget that there is a world outside of the English canon. With teaching more popular African novels students will gain the insight to look retrospectively at both the history of America and Africa, draw comparisons, and look at the styles of writing and storytelling that is done within these novels.

The reason I’ve chosen to focus on Aya of Yop City is that it offers more than just text in that it is in graphic novel format and in film portion as well.  In turn I believe this could also be taught with other novels as a supplemental text.  I’m still actively looking for other novels, but would like to examine further the overlaps within the historical backgrounds and the ideas of a free nation and national identity with students.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final Paper Step 1

  1. Anne Gulick says:

    There’s a quickly burgeoning field of scholarship on postcolonial graphic novels that’ll help you out with this project. You may want to contact Dr. Qiana Whitted, who introduced me to Aya and may have published on it as well. There’s a volume called Teaching the Graphic Novel that I think has some good essays about graphic novels and postcoloniality. And here’s an interesting resource:
    http://libguides.northwestern.edu/african-comics

    Like

    • Johnathon Hall says:

      Thanks for the info! I’ll try to get in touch with Dr. Whitted sometime this week and gather up that volume if I can find it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

