Introduction: Joshua Dunn

Hello all,

My name is Joshua Dunn, and I’m a first year MA in Literature. At its most broad, my interest is in the convergence of literature and structures of power. More specifically, however, I’ve been most recently interested in the relationship between global economies and local spaces, whether they be geographic spaces such as cities or aesthetic spaces such as novels, etc. These were concepts I was able to explore¬†through taking Dr. Jelly-Schapiro’s course on Post-Colonialism, and I’m excited to be able to continue these ideas with a focus on the African novel in particular. If our initial readings are any indication, I think this course will be incredibly fruitful in following that line of thought.

Finally, I’ve decided that this class will be a crucial first step in rectifying my South Carolina public school education on Africa, which, as one might imagine, was at best dismal and at worst non-existent. I’m very much looking forward to it.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

