Paul McElhinny

Hello,

I am a first-year MA in Comparative Literature focusing on English and French literature. Last semester I took Eli Jelly-Schapiro’s Post-colonial literary theory course. From this class I garnered an interest in Aime Cesaire’s idea of ‘choc en retour’ which relates the rise of Hitler and the Holocaust to forms of colonial violence perpetrated by the West during the imperial era. While I am not sure if we’ll revisit this concept or not throughout the semester, I look forward to continuing to broaden my horizons by reading and discussing new works of African fiction.

At this point my scholarly interests have yet to be clearly defined, but I generally enjoy studying France, it’s imperial pursuits and their lasting legacy in different parts of the world. Thus, I think this course could benefit me quite a bit.

Best,

Paul McElhinny

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

